Interview with Katie

Katharina Lang is a PhD student here. Katie kindly answered some questions for our blog.

Where did you move from, to attend UM?

I moved here from Vienna, Austria. I was born and grew up in a small village in Austria, close to the border to Germany. At age 19, I moved to Vienna to study Communications.

What interests you about studying communication as an academic discipline?
 
I didn’t intend going into academics until my first year as a Master’s student. My program in Austria has always been very research-oriented and very theory-focused. I’ve been doing empirical research ever since my freshman year in college. My interests, however, are quite widespread. I’ve been doing quite a bit of research in journalism, but I’m also very interested in political and interpersonal communication, as well as social media. So I still have to find a way to either make a choice or to combine these interests somehow.
 

What brought you to the University of Miami?

I am here on a Fulbright. For Austrians, Fulbright or the Institute of International Education (IIE) in New York decide where your application will be sent. If you get accepted at several schools, you can decide yourself. For me, UM just made me the best offer.

What advice do you have for prospective students considering coming here?

To have a plan of what they want to do in their careers, research-wise. I came here with such diverse interests that now it’s quite hard to find a common denominator. I would advise prospective doctoral students to make up their mind beforehand.

What do you hope to do with your PhD?

I am planning to work in academia, to do research and teach.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

