Communication Faculty Honored with Awards, Accolades

Faculty in the School of Communication are staying busy.

Professors and students are being recognized worldwide for their research, books, scholarly articles, and leadership in today’s ever growing communication field.

Among some recent notable achievements:

  • A study by faculty members Cong Li, Sunny Tsai, and Gonzalo Soruco was honored as best paper by the The American Academy of Advertising.
  • Professor Thomas Steinfatt published an article in Crime, Law, and Social Change.
  • Faculty member Maggie Steber published photographs to accompany a story on the Taino culture in the October 2011 issue of “Smithsonian Magazine”. See the photos here.
  • Associate Professor Tsitsi Wakhisi spent 11 days in the United Arab Emirates in December to chronicle the experiences of U.S. journalists who are working for “The National”, a 3 ½ year-old English newspaper based in Abu Dhabi.
  • Associate Professor Sallie Hughes wrote the chapter on media and democracy for the “Oxford Handbook of Mexican Politics”. She edited a peer-reviewed special edition of the “Taiwan Journal of Democracy on Media and Citizenship” with Juliet Gill, who received her Ph.D. from the School of Communication in 2006.
  • Professor Paul Lazarus was a finalist at the 2011 Hollywood Screenplay Contest in the Thriller category with his script “The Game Changer”.
  • Professor John Soliday served as chairman of the National Communication Association’s theater, film, and new multi-media division and represented the University of Miami on the NCA Legislative Assembly for the second consecutive year.
  • Professor Don Stacks, won the PRIDE award for the “Best Textbook Written in the Past Year” by the National Communication Association’s public relations division. The book is titled “A Practitioners Guide to Public Relations, Research, Measurement, and Evaluation.” Stacks is also the new editor of the “Journal of the Association for Communication Administration” and was named executive director of the International Public Relations Conference.
  • The National Press Photographers Association honored Professor Rich Beckman with NPPA’s 2011 Kenneth P. McLaughlin Award of Merit.

Click here to read more:



Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s